About

Elephant Rocks

 

My name is Griffin Trotter and I am a 22 year old living in St. Louis, MO. Not exactly the outdoor center of the universe but I do what I can to make it work with whatever time I have to get out of the city. I am a Police Officer here in the area, which makes me really want to get away from the city when I get the chance. My family lives all around the country including in some of the great geographical areas in the United States. My mom and dad live on Whidbey Island a small island, about a 30 minute ferry ride from Seattle. While my middle brother, Shane with his wife Neely, lives in Mansfield, Texas about 15 minutes from Dallas and Ft. Worth. My oldest brother, Orion, lives in Boise, Idaho with his wife Mari, and his one year old beast of a son, Josey.  I have been an outdoor lover since I was a child as my dad and I would get away for months at a time fishing and hiking in the Mountains of Idaho and Montana. But, this love of the outdoors has expanded into a general thirst for adventure. I’m not sure what kind of adventures I’m going to embark on in my life yet, but I have a few ideas and I plan on sharing the outcome of these adventures with you guys. The plans I’ve got right now are to spend some time with my entire family in the Bob Marshall Wilderness this summer, and Climb Mount Rainier next summer with my dad. I also plan to section hike the 250 mile Ozark Trail and 310 mile Superior Hiking Trail within the next two years as it is just about impossible to take off enough time to thru-hike those giants.  I also plan to review some outdoor gear for you guys so maybe you have one more place to go before you buy that $300 tent, which there is an equally good counterpart for $150.

I would love to hear any feedback you have, whether it be my writing, my gear, or my face just pisses you off, I really don’t care. I just want to hear that maybe I have readers who share the same interests or have the same drive I have. You won’t hurt my feelings, I don’t play the victim.